Ohio Requirements for Reporting After A Car Accident
In Ohio, the police may not investigate all accidents. They are only required to arrive to and investigate a car crash under the following circumstances:
- If the accident causes an injury that requires medical attention or results in a death
- If property damage totals more than $1,000
State law mandates that all involved parties pull safely off the road and exchange information as normal following an accident.
Filing an Auto Accident Following an Incident in Ohio
Especially if you’re considering legal action at some point, filing a formal auto accident report is crucial. The document establishes some initial facts about the incident, including that the incident happened at all. It’s a vital piece of paperwork and acts as an initial record, and also is a good way to denote key facts while they’re still fresh in your mind.
A Note About Uninsured Ohio Drivers
The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) has a process to file a report for uninsured drivers. The report mainly evaluates their license and determines a possible suspension for violating the state’s mandatory insurance law. This is only for accidents that cause personal injuries or damage above $400.
Hiring an Ohio Auto Attorney After the Accident
If you develop even a minor injury in the days following the incident, you may begin accruing medical bills related to your diagnosis and recovery. If the other party is primarily at fault for the incident, you may be entitled to compensation to pay for your treatment and recovery. It’s difficult to negotiate this on your own, and a qualified auto accident attorney can help you determine what type and kind of compensation are pursuable and which isn’t.
An auto attorney can handle the hard work so you can focus on your recovery.
Plenty of West Chester, Mason, and Hamilton clients have trusted Garretson & Holcomb, LLC to represent them in post-auto accident personal injury suits, no matter the size. They’re the knowledgeable firm that will fight for every dollar you deserve. Call (513) 863-6600 to learn more.